Making of the ILSCA (IA) Rules

Prior to the Institutional Arbitration rules were framed for ILSCA the team at ILSCA went through Institutional Arbitration Rules of various domestic as well international institutions.

Highlights of the Rules:

- An accelerated timeline for low-value or simple disputes.
- Mechanisms which cater to multi-party / multi-contract scenarios.
- Availability of an emergency arbitrator to determine urgent applications for interim relief before the main arbitral tribunal is appointed.
- A time-limit for the arbitral tribunal to render its final award; and
- A clear costs schedule providing guidance about arbitral tribunal fees and administrative fees

The First set of ILSCA Institutional Arbitration Rules were drafted by a committee consisting of the following members:

- Mrs. Sathya Narayan Member Governing Council Indian Law Society Director, ILSCA
- 2. Ms. Anwita Dinkar Research Associate, ILSCA

The Draft was presented before the expert panel consisting of the following members for further reviewing and fine tuning

Expert Panel:

- 1. Mr. Tejas Karia Partner and Head of arbitration practice at Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co
- 2. Dr. Manoj Kumar Founder & Managing Partner, Hammurabi & Solomon
- 3. Mr. Veeraraghavan Inbavijayan International Arbitrator & Mediator at KOVE Global LLP
- 4. Mr. Timothy Gracious Co-Founder, Peacekeeping and Conflict Resolution Team (PACT)

The discussion to draw the final version of the rules was held before the Governing Council of the Indian Law Society and the following members were present during the meetings.

- 1. Ms.Bhatkar Mridula, President, Indian Law Society, Former Judge High Court of Bombay
- 2. Mr. Karandikar, Advocate Vice-President, Indian Law Society
- 3. Mr. P. Narayan, Advocate Chairman Governing Council, Indian Law Society
- 4. Principal Vaijayanti Joshi Secretary Governing Council, Indian Law Society
- 5. Mrs. Sathya Narayan Member Governing Council Indian Law Society & Director, ILSCA
- 6. Mr. Kanetkar, Advocate Member Governing Council Indian Law Society
- 7. Mr. V.N. Rao Member Governing Council. Indian Law Society
- 8. Mr. Nitin Deshpande, Advocate Member Governing Council, Indian Law Society
- 9. Mrs. Sita Bhatia Member Governing Council, Indian Law Society
- 10.Ms. Laxmi Paranjape- Member Governing Council, Indian Law Society

The final version was further discussed and precise changes were made to make the Rules as successful and effective as it possibly can be, by the following members.

- 1. Mrs. Sathya Narayan-Director ILSCA
- 2. Ms. Pooja Kannurkar Research Associate, ILSCA
- 3. Ms. Rajalakshmi Joshi- Faculty, ILS Law College